top of page

Leadership at SMSA



It is our privilege to announce that Mr. Patrick Gormley, a parishioner of St. Mary’s Parish, graduate of St. Mary’s School in Ballston Spa and Saratoga Spa Catholic High School, and 25-year veteran educator at Queensbury High School, has been appointed principal of SMSA, effective July 1, 2023.

A certified school administrator and certified teacher of English and Art, since 1998 Mr. Gormley has taught a variety of English courses at Queensbury, including a senior elective on Adirondack Literature that he conceived and designed himself.

Fr. Scott VanDerveer, Pastor

Fr. Scott VanDerveer, a passionate educator and life-long learner, is the pastor and leader of St. Mary’s Parish and SMSA.  Fr. Scott was born and raised in Rochester, received a degree in Journalism & Mass Communication from St. Bonaventure University and went on to earn a Master’s in Education at Boston College.  

After spending time abroad serving in Up with People program, he took a position as a high school theology teacher for five years at Cristo Rey Catholic High School in Boston. In 2007, he took a middle school teaching position near his maternal relatives in Albany, while he took a closer look at what it would mean to follow the pull he had felt for so long toward religious life. 

In 2009, Father Scott returned to Boston to study at Pope St. John XXIII National Seminary as a seminarian of the Diocese of Albany.  He earned a Masters of Divinity degree and was ordained as a priest on June 8, 2013 at age 38.

His first assignment was at St. Mary’s Parish in Oneonta then went on to become pastor of two parishes: St. Mary’s in Coxsackie, and the Church of St. Patrick in Ravena. In September 2021, he became the pastor of St. Mary’s Parish and SMSA.


SMSA School Board

Established according to Diocesan guidelines, the SMSA School Board serves in an advisory role to the school's administration, providing critical support and guidance in the areas of Catholic Identity, Buildings and Grounds, Recruitment and Retention, and Fundraising and Development.  School Board members must adhere to an established Code of Ethics and Conduct. 


Interested guests are welcome and encouraged to attend school board meetings, which are regularly held at 5:45 pm on the 4th Monday of each month.  Guests should check the School Calendar and/or the latest Kerry Blue Newsletter for possible changes to times, dates, and locations.

Board Membership


Non-voting Members:

  • Father Scott VanDerveer, Pastor

  • Patrick Gormley, Principal

  • Anne Casola, Faculty Representative

Voting Members

Executive Team:

  • Kathleen McNulty, President and Catholic ID Committee Member

  • Patricia Siano, Vice President and Catholic ID Committee Member

  • Kate Fowler, Secretary


  • Theresa Aslin, PTSA Representative, Recruitment & Enrollment Committee Member

  • Francine Buser: Catholic Identity Committee Member

  • Janet Curley, School Grant Task Force Captain

  • Rachel Dutra, Recruitment & Enrollment Committee Member

  • Rosario Gallo, Buildings and Grounds Committee Assistant Chair

  • Mark Olechowski, Finance and Development Committee Assistant Chair

  • Mary Tully, Buildings and Grounds Committee Chair

bottom of page